Notice

The forum is in read only mode.

Table saw advice. General? Help me out guys.

• Junior
  • Junior's Avatar Topic Author

Junior created the topic: Table saw advice. General? Help me out guys.

Bear with me here. I realize this is a long post.
I'm not a professional woodworker. I'm a manufacturing supervisor by day and a guitar player by night with a mini home recording studio in my spare room. My only woodworking experience has been building sound proof 3/4 particle board boxes to enclose my guitar speaker cabinets for recording. The wood for these I had ripped at HD. Other minor tasks around the house have been done with my tiny cordless skill saw. I'm now wanting to build a couple more boxes and possibly a custom studio work station for my home studio gear. I got an impulse to buy a table saw. I am VERY limited in my woodworking experience but fairly handy. I just figured I would go out a buy a solid contractors table saw at HD or Lowe's for a few hundred bucks and that would be it. I checked out HD and Lowe's. Even with my lack of experience I was not impressed with the overall quality of the saws they carried (no offense intended to anyone who has bought from them). I'm not rich by any stretch but I do have a problem when it comes to tools only buying top of the line rather than budgeting and being practical with my money. I'm still single and have this luxury/curse. Because of this, I always find myself looking at DeWalt since this seems to be one of the only higher end power tool brands we are exposed to. After MUCH RESEARCH I have found that the General line of saws seem to have the right combination of quality and features I want (cast iron wings, left tilt, powerful enough motor to avoid too many limitations, quality fence, and safe). Based on this my research has landed at the General line of saws. I am looking at the 50-185(contractor $699), the new 220CLM(hybrid $879), and even the 260(cabinet $1295) leaning toward the 220 for the dust collectio