Notice

The forum is in read only mode.

table saw purchase

• charliewood
  • charliewood's Avatar Topic Author

charliewood created the topic: table saw purchase

new woodworker considering table saw looking at grizzly contractor or cabinet saw, believe in buying good quality that will be good for beginner and also when I develop the skills for furniture projects, any ideas or opinions :D
  • gurujeff03

gurujeff03 replied the topic: Re: table saw purchase

I'm new to buying a table saw as well and this is what I have found.

I'm interested in the hybrid saws, cross between the contractor and cabinet. they have the motor mounted under the blade. I like this because it takes up less room. The drawback is that they are pretty close to the price of a cabinet saw. Jet has a basic model starting at about $900.

I've also been looking at craftsman, the hitachi C10FL and some others. I don't really want to spend too much on it.

Let me know what you find

Jeff
  • medman937

medman937 replied the topic: Table saw

on the table saw, I had a ryobi 3000 for years but I quickly discovered after the initial purchase, I needed much more in a table saw than what it can provide as far as precise cutting.

When the v belt broke, I used this as an excuse to purchase a better saw. I chose the Jet 10jt. This saw is so much better than what I have been used to. The noise level is half, it doesn't take a few minutes in between cuts for set-ups and it cuts so much smoother than the ryobi.

Yes, I loose space because the motor is outside but I have it on a rolling base and that takes the space anyway.

Do yourself a favor and look at this saw. I got mine at Lowe's on sale for 449.00 with stand.
  • MichaelOH

MichaelOH replied the topic: Re: table saw purchase