Notice

The forum is in read only mode.

Radial arm saw

• Jimmied
  • Jimmied's Avatar Topic Author

Jimmied created the topic: Radial arm saw

Well, it's time for me to sop lurking and get my feet wet. I am new to woodworking and I need some advice. I picked up a DeWalt 16" production radial arm saw for a VERY good price. When I got it I figured that I would be able to work into it. After reading the forums the radial arm saw doesn't seem to be the saw of choice. Should I sell it and get a cabinet saw, or hang on and go for the gusto? I will appreciate any comments.

Jim
  • dipdog

dipdog replied the topic: Re: Radial arm saw

Hi Jim,
I used to have a radial arm saw. It did a nice job for crosscutting and miters as long as it was properly tuned. The day my ex launched a piece of wood across the street while doing a rip cut was all it took for me to get rid of it and buy a table saw. Granted all saws can have a nasty kickback, but the location of the blade in respect to the woodworker is dangerous. Just the cutting direction of the blade makes it a hazard for anything except cross cuts in my opinion. I never had any issues with the quality of cuts, except dados, my only issue was safety. Hope I didn't ramble too much. :oops:
George
  • Jimmied
  • Jimmied's Avatar Topic Author

Jimmied replied the topic: Re: Radial arm saw

George,
Thanks for the info. Sounds kinda scarey! It'd be my misfortune to launch a chunk of wood at me and I'm not partial to being a pin cushion. I guess I'll start hunting up a good table saw, at least they aren't as complicated to keep tuned and maintained.

Jim
  • steve07

steve07 replied the topic: Re: Radial arm saw