Notice

The forum is in read only mode.

Best dust collection system?

• BigWoody
  • BigWoody's Avatar Topic Author

BigWoody created the topic: Best dust collection system?

I am new to woodworking. I just purchased a 3 HP unisaw, with the optional dust port on the bottom. i also have the Excalibur overhead fence wuth dust-collection hose.

I started researching dust-collection systems, but the amount of variables is overwhelming. I want to get the leats expensive system that will really do a good job (ie, probably a 2-stage, unless you recommend otherwise.)

I don't intend to have too many other tools in the near future. Certainly a miter saw and router, but that's about it. The router will be mounted on the saw, but will use a separate fence (Incra) with it's own (narrow) port.

No two tools will be used concurrently, and I will only be doing occasional home projects.

Do I want separate collection systems for each?
Should I use one small unit, and switch it back 7 forth?
Should a I get slightly larger unit and just connect everything?

Whichever scenario you recommend, what is the best unit available, without wasting money on something that is too big?

-thanks!
  • RONZWORLD

RONZWORLD replied the topic: Re: Best dust collection system?

WOODY, CHECK OUT HARBOR FREIGHT TOOLS ONLINE, I RECENTLY PURCHASED A 2 HP. 1600 CFM. DUST COLLECTOR FROM THEM AND I WAS AMAZED WHEN I GOT ! IT,S EXACTLY THE SAME AS THE GRIZZLY MODEL OF THE SAME SIZE BUT AT A MUCH LOWER PRICE(UNDER $200.00!) FIT AND FINISH ON IT IS REALLY NICE FOR THE PRICE AND IT WORKS GOOD TOO! RON, FROM RONZWORLD.
  • diarmaid

diarmaid replied the topic: Re: Best dust collection system?

8O Hi all, I was just browsing and I saw this post so I had to join the site to say something. I hope the thread isn't too old to revive.

I had a look at that 1600cfm extractor you bought....OMG....it only filters down to 30microns. In wood dust terms 30microns is a brick!