Notice

The forum is in read only mode.

Table saw alignment

• bcscustomwood
  • bcscustomwood's Avatar Topic Author

bcscustomwood created the topic: Table saw alignment

I have one of the Ridgid table saws, and use it regularly.
The thing is driving me nuts keeping it in alignment.

I'm not a newbie when it comes to equipment or maintaining it.
I use a dial guage 1st then check it then old fashioned way with a tri square.
I have a bar I clamp on (that replaces the saw blade) to do my checks. I dont trust a saw blade I've had to many that were out by .010 or .015.

I get the thing to within .002 and the next month its out of alignment again.

One other cruel thing is when I get the fence lined up I get bad blade burn on the fence side.
I dont line the fence up parallel either, I like the leading edge to be at least .003 away from the blade.

Any suggestions, tips or hints that I might try. Short of buying the Powermatic I've lusted after.

I have found this Ridgid brand to be lacking for heavy daily use.
The only good thing I have found is the tighter threads on the trunions, at least the blade doesnt vibrate up or down when cutting.
  • ronbill

ronbill replied the topic: Re: Table saw alignment

I'm far from an expert but I have had some luck aligning my saw. A possibility you may consider for the alignment going out (Just how much is it going out by the way?) is if your blade is out as much as you say it may be wobbling just enough to knock it out of adjustment. I have found that blade stabilizers and a high quality blade make all the difference in the world. A Forrest blade solved all of my problems.

And oh yea, try adjusting the fence with the .003 on the far side of the blade. I bet it will help your burning problem.

Hope this helps a little.

Ron….
  • bcscustomwood

bcscustomwood replied the topic: Re: Table saw alignment

Whats the difference between far side and leading edge?
I'll rephrase. I goofed.